November 4, 2008

  • Time for another map!  Last one before the one that matters!

    As expected, McCain has been gaining some ground.

    ALASKA (3 votes) – There is a poll here from Sarah Palin’s home state showing McCain leading by only 3 points.  This has to be a fluke, because every poll recently has shown McCain leading by double-digits.  I am not changing it.  McCain is going to take Alaska, no question.

    ARIZONA (10 votes) – The last five polls from John McCain’s home state show him leading by 7 points or less.  I am pretty sure he is still going to take it, but I am leaving it as Weak McCain.  As I said before, this could be an indication of other problems.  Al Gore lost his home state of Tennessee in 2000 and barely lost the election.

    ARKANSAS (6 votes) – There is a poll out from Razorback Country showing McCain only leading 51-44.  Again, I think this is probably a fluke, so I am leaving it as Strong McCain.

    COLORADO (9 votes) – Obama has been consistently leading here, though his margin has slimmed a bit.  I am moving it from Strong Obama to Weak Obama.  I still think he will take it, but he might have some difficulty.

    FLORIDA (27 votes) – There is a Rasmussen poll out showing McCain with a 1 point lead.  This state is VERY close.  Obama has been leading for awhile, but his lead has only been a few points.  I am leaving this one as Weak Obama just because the polls are in his favor, but McCain could pull this one.

    INDIANA (11 votes) – The latest poll shows Obama with a 1 point lead, but it has been flip-flopping back and forth.  I think McCain will probably take it, but for the poll map I am moving it from Weak McCain to Tied.

    IOWA (7 votes) – Obama has been getting some insane results here lately, in a state that went for Bush in 2004.  The latest poll shows him with a 54-37 lead.  It looks like Iowa is going blue this year.

    MISSOURI (11 votes) – The latest poll from the Show-Me State shows the candidates dead even at 49-49.  Two of the three polls before that showed a tie as well, and the other one only showed a one-point lead for Obama.  I am moving this one from Weak McCain to Tied, just because it is so close.

    NEW MEXICO (5 votes) – Obama still has a 10-point lead in this Bush state.  It looks to be going blue.

    NORTH CAROLINA (15 votes) – The last three polls show McCain with a 1-point lead, though it is VERY close.  I am leaving it as Weak McCain.

    NORTH DAKOTA (3 votes) – There haven’t been any polls here since mid-October, and the last two showed it very close (one as a tie, one as an Obama lead).  I have to leave it as Weak McCain.

    OHIO (20 votes) – Obama has been consistently leading here until recently.  The latest poll shows a tie at 49-49, and the poll before that gives McCain a 2-point edge.  I am moving it from Weak Obama to Tied.

    PENNSYLVANIA (21 votes) – Obama has been leading here for quite awhile, though the last poll is dated October 30 before McCain’s last-minute campaigning.  That poll showed Obama with a 7-point lead, and since McCain has been campaigning here I am pulling it back from Strong Obama to Weak Obama.

    VIRGINIA (13 votes) – Obama has been leading here for quite awhile, including in the latest poll dated November 2.  I am leaving it as Weak Obama.

    That’s the way it stands going into the election, folks.  The projected electoral vote stands at 318-178, with 42 votes currently tied.  With the map the way it is, McCain could win all of those 42 votes and still not win.  However, polls can be wrong…

    I will have my prediction map out ASAP.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *